New Shoes

Born to Run brought to light the idea of “jogging” and the shoes created to accompany this culture.  Cushioned shoes, pronation, orthotics were all developed in the 70s with the first Nike shoes (the soles of which were first created from a waffle maker!).  One analogy that resonated with me was that even if you put an egg in an oven mitt and hit it with a hammer, the egg will still crack.  When running, your foot is ultimately trying to find stability, but with extra cushioning it has to work harder.  Even with all of that cushioning, it is still suffering impact.

Screen Shot 2013-01-28 at 7.46.16 PM

After reviewing my race pics, I realized, I am definitely a heel striker (and I make the cutest faces).  And the thick, chunky heel of my lunarglide+4 (reviewed by runningwarehouse.com as a shoe for heel strikers) just reinforced this.  Born to Run made me think; How we run naturally without shoes; how you used to run as a kid, barefoot, through the grass, light and free; how the Tarahumara can run in huaraches with soles made of tire scraps.  How Barefoot Ted started running barefoot in an attempt to alleviate pain.

Nike-LunarEclipse-2-Womens-Running-Shoe-487974_506_A

Regardless of how I ran my past race, I already knew I would treat myself to a new pair of shoes.  I eagerly ordered a pair of lunareclipse+2, craving the new bright lavender color (a shoe I previously had in black).  However, when I received them, I had already started questioning their cushioning.  So I ended up returning them.

Nike-Free-TR-Fit-2-Womens-Training-Shoes-487789_015_A

Instead, I opted for a pair of Nike Free TR Fit 2 for a couple of reasons.  1. I could wear these for training and BODYPUMP (flat-soled shoes are good for weight-lifting, providing even distribution of weight) and 2. I could slowly transition into minimalist shoes since even when I ran with Nike Free’s I always added inserts.

These fit like gloves and I literally wanted to sleep in them the first night I got them (they were brand-spanking new and clean!).  However, when I first tried running in them, I had to run significantly slower.  And I was even being propelled by the treadmill!  Gradually I have started to work on my form.  Taking smaller strides, focusing on a light strike.  I almost envision my legs propelling in place like the Road Runner!  Someday I just want to run mentally detached from my legs.  I want to run miles (maybe just 26.2 someday) and not feel any pain!  This just means…TIME TO READ ANOTHER ULTRA-MARATHONER BOOK!

One thought on “New Shoes

  1. Pingback: Ramblings & TMI | daily cup of asheejojo

Leave a Reply

