Treadmill Run

When I first started running, back in high school when I gave up swimming, I was all about the treadmill.  Somehow I was able to stay on it for an hour, without a second thought of how b o r i n g it was!

Then I transitioned to the great outdoors, and now I always find myself running next to a scenic and large body of water.

photophotophoto

Yet sometimes now I’ll find myself opting for the treadmill vs. running outside.  This usually has to do with the weather (too cold) and/or daylight savings (too dark).  The treadmill is also good for integrating some diversity into your running.  For example, it’s much easier for me to do a sprint workout on the treadmill versus motivating myself to put some speed into my (outdoor) step.

Here is a good treadmill workout that integrates two things that you most likely won’t do on your own (sprints and hills).  Roughly a 45 minute long workout.
Warm up with 3 minute jog (or however long to get your body feeling good).

Round 1 (Set at 1% incline):
30 sec on 8.7 mph
15 sec off (step on the sides of the treadmill)
45 sec on 8.7 mph
15 sec off
1 min on 8.7 mph
15 sec off
1:15 min on 8.7 mph
15 sec off
1:30 min on 9.0mph
15 sec off

Round 2 (Set at 1% incline):
30 sec on 9.2 mph
15 sec off
45 sec on 9.2 mph
15 sec off
1 min on 9.2 mph
15 sec off
1:15 min on 9.2 mph
15 sec off
1:30 min on 9.5mph
15 sec off

Walk 3 minutes at 4mph at 4% incline

Round 3 (Set at 4% incline):
30 sec on 8mph
15 sec off
45 sec on 8mph
15 sec off
1 min on 8mph
15 sec off
1:15 min on 8mph
15 sec off
1:30 min on 8mph
15 sec off

Round 4 (Set at 4% incline):
30 sec on 7mph
15 sec off
45 sec on 7mph
15 sec off
1 min on 7mph
15 sec off
1:15 min on 7mph
15 sec off
1:30 min on 6.8mph (give yourself a break!)
15 sec off

Cool down with a 1 mile jog around 7-7.5mph.  Speeds can vary based on your level.  But overall I think this is an effective way to introduce your body to different variables you might not be experiencing on your everyday runs.

Leave a Reply

