Dirty Chai: Day Three

Today was my first day at work while on the Whole30.  I had a filling breakfast of a steamed sweet potato, and omelette with avocado.  Around noon I stopped by Starbucks to try a “Whole30 approved” drink I found– a “dirty chai” made with a chai tea bag, shot of espresso and some sprinkled cinnamon.  I got a grande with a venti cup of ice.  The day was getting warmer, so I decided to pour it over ice.  Well, this drink was pretty dirty– potent and unappealing.  I probably made it about 3 sips before I had to stop.  Now it just sits in the fridge.  Maybe I’ll try adding some canned coconut milk (I’m thinking the lighter color might make it more appealing?)  I don’t think I am necessarily addicted to coffee.  Actually, I know I’m not addicted to coffee.  My go-to drink for the past couple of months has been a green tea-misto.  I might just be addicted to the franchise and the “pleasure” associated with warm drinks inside a of this world-known white cup.

photo

My hunger was quelled until an appropriate lunch time, and I enjoyed an easy go-to lunch favorite — tuna and avocado wraps.  Inspired by Nom Nom Paleo (I’ll post my version later).  This Whole30 has just made me more aware of additives in products- i.e. vegetable broth in Chicken of the Sea canned albacore tuna in water containing soy, or soy lecithin in olive oil cooking spray.

I felt lethargic today and not really in the mood to run (even though my first pair of compression socks did come in the mail today!).  I read in the Whole30 forum that not until day 26 will running/exercising become easier–as your body will start using fat reserves for fuel.  So I opted for a CP2 (Corepower 2) class.  I felt so refreshed afterwards!  I decided that I’m going to start doing yoga again, I’m just weighing the pros and cons of a monthly membership vs. class package.

This newer Corepower is located in the same shopping center as the new Whole Foods, which makes it convenient to frequent post-yoga in drenched-bun and sweaty spanks.  I bought some more kombucha, since yes, it is approved (my favorite right now is Bucha) and some chicken for dinner.  Even after waiting an hour for the chicken to get nice and crispy, I wasn’t ravenously hungry.  That’s new for me, especially when I just finished sweating a mini shower.  Here’s what was for dinner:

photo

Whole30 Pesto “Noodles”
Living Low Carb One Day At A Time
INGREDIENTS
2 lb spaghetti squash
1 cup fresh basil leaves
1/2 cup baby spinach
1/2 Tbsp dried sage
Juice and zest of half a lemon
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp black pepper
2 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
DIRECTIONS

  1. To make the pesto, add the basil, spinach, and dried sage in a food processor and pulse until chopped.
  2. Add the lemon zest and juice, salt, black pepper, and 2 Tbsp of the oil.
  3. Process until a paste forms. If the pesto is too dry add more oil until the desired consistency is reached.
  4. Pierce the skin of the spaghetti squash all over with a fork. Cut off the two ends. Place the squash on a plate and put in the microwave for 8 minutes.
  5. When the squash is steamed, cut in half. Remove the seeds and shred the noodles with a fork. Once the squash is done baking, allow to cool slightly before cutting in half.
  6. Add the pesto and stir to combine. Top with some chopped raw almonds for some texture.
  7. Served with roasted chicken parts (i.e. wings, drumsticks, thighs).
Leave a Reply

