Running and Recipes: Day Sixteen

Happy St. Patty’s Day!  What better way to celebrate than run 10 miles?!  However, I’ve been having some trouble with my runs lately, and I think hope it can be attributed to my body still adjusting to the Whole30.  I’m on day 16, or day 7 if I re-start from my cheat day.  I’m hanging in there, hoping I reach the day where my body starts using my fat reserves as fuel.  Our 10 mile run took nearly as long as a half-marathon.  I just feel bad for my running partner because I feel like I can’t move my body any faster than a 9-10 min pace.   And even at that, my heart rate is still elevated to 160bpm+.  When I try an exerted effort to hit 8-8:30 pace, it increases to 174, but I’m not able to sustain this for a while.  It’s almost unenjoyable and discouraging to run.  I checked on the Whole30 forum and it seems like this is a common side-effect for endurance athletes:
Dropped Performance (Running)
Day 15- Running Still Awful

photo
Tonight we made another Martha Stewart inspired recipe adapted to be Whole30-compliant.  While this cooked, my bf/sous-chef Fritz made a very gourmet crab and shrimp salad with cucumbers, tomatoes, avocado and arugula dressed with lime and olive oil with beautiful knife cuts and plate presentation.  Doesn’t look like he will be competing with Carla anytime soon on Food Network’s Worst Cooks in America 😉

SOIL_Bobby-Flay-Carla-Johnson-02_s4x3_e

photo

Roasted Chicken Thighs with Tomatoes and Olives
INGREDIENTS
6 bone-in, skin-on chicken thighs
6 chicken drumsticks
3 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 pint grape tomatoes, halved lengthwise
1 cup pitted botija olives (Peruvian)
3 sprigs fresh thyme
Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees F.  Combine chicken, oil, tomatoes, olives and thyme in a large bowl.  Season with salt and pepper and toss.
  2. Transfer to a parchment lined rimmed baking sheet and spread chicken mixture, skin side up, in a single layer.
  3. Roast for 45 minutes-1 hour until skin is golden and crispy.
  4. Remove and serve with roasted cauliflower (1 head of cauliflower, chopped into florets, drizzled with 1 Tbsp. extra-virgin olive oil, seasoned with salt and pepper, and roasted in the same oven for 35-45 minutes–until browned/blackened and crispy).

photo

Leave a Reply

