Training: Day Eighteen

I feel like lately I’ve been running only when I either feel like it, or can fit it in, trying to hit a quota of at least 20 miles/week.  However, I don’t feel like I’m really benefitting or having any meaningful workouts.  After reading What I Talk About When I Talk About Running I felt like I should be building up my training months a head of time, to taper off the month before.  But then again, I have to remind myself, I’m not, even in the slightest, a pro-athlete.  My goals, as of today, are to:

1. Still run at least 20 miles per week.
2. Get inserts for my Nike TR Free Fit shoes.  My lunarglides feel to clunky and heavy now, but I feel like I’m doing myself a disservice by pounding out miles with no cushioning.
3. Set a schedule; run at least 1 long run, 1 hill run, and 1 tempo run a week.
4. Allow for recovery before and after long runs.
5. Remember– running is supposed to be fun!

47d316d74117202cdf351eef8371ec21

 

source

Today I ran 3 miles of the half-marathon course I’ll run in about a month.  I measured and tackled the most difficult part of the race– 0.6 miles of straight mountain-climbing.  After 3 miles, I turned around and finished with a 6 mile run at an 8:35/mile pace.  Towards mile 3 my calves started to get heavy (something that usually only plagues me during races–when it’s too late).  I think part of the problem is I am mixing too many different techniques–none of which I’ve mastered.

On another note: I accidentally ingested evaporated cane sugar!! x_x dun dun dun.  After reading 3 seemingly Whole30 approved pasta sauces, I pick up the fourth that just so happened to be not.  I’ll excuse my mistake because I have been extra cautious in reading labels, it was organic, and evaporated cane juice is supposedly a “natural” sugar.

Leave a Reply

