I’m Not Your Hero: Day Twenty-One

Favorite running song right now:

The other day at Sprouts I picked up some Minneola tangerines, with the assumption that this was just another name for the Sumo tangerine.  With the same little nob at the top, I didn’t think there could really be more than one varietal.  After eating one, I started to think twice.  The Minneola had a thinner peel, and was a little bit harder to peel.  So I did some googling…  Minneolas are a cross between a tangerine and a pomelo (type of grapefruit).  These have a topknot (where their name “honeybell” comes from) reminiscent of the Sumo tangerines I picked up from Whole Foods not too long ago.  So what’s the difference?  Sumo Tangerines are a mix between tangerines and California navel oranges.  And their name comes from their topknot which resembles a sumo wrestlers.

photo

Post-work I ran back and forth along the coast and coaster tracks until I hit 4 miles – 31:43, about a 7:55/mile.  Mile 1: 7:53, Mile 2: 7:44, Mile 3: 7:59, Mile 4: 8:01.  Listening to my favorite song (above) and second favorite, Mirrors by JT.  After running, I didn’t have much else to do, so I decided to go to HPF 75 min.

Thennnn, I went to the usual Whole Foods where I finally found coconut butter in a jar!  16 ounces of pure creamy, sweetness.  This is my absolute favorite!  I love it on japanese yams, with a little salt and pepper to contrast the sweetness.  It’s also good with regular yams, and now I even like to use it on my omelette as my fat instead of avocado.  When I read that people liked to eat it out of the jar, I didn’t understand.  I wouldn’t go as far as to eat it out of the jar, but I definitely love it.

Leave a Reply

