Economical Iced Coffee

I have become a recent connoisseur of iced coffee.  Once a tea misto fiend, my Whole30 ways have turned me on to venti iced coffee’s at Starbucks (with canned light coconut milk).  At $3 a pop, and my Starbucks card running low, I needed to find an economical way to get my iced coffee.  Solution: homemade iced coffee.  Yes, it loses the grandeur of being a “Starbucks” iced coffee, but $3 in my pocket a day will be worth it.  I don’t know how long this will last, as I’ve already had 3 cups today (whoops!).  And did I mention no coffee machine or equipment is required?  I like it because it’s very light and doesn’t have that hard-hitting coffee flavor.  Perfectly spiced and not bitter might just make it:

icedcoffee3

Homemade Iced Coffee
From A Beautiful Mess
INGREDIENTS:
2 1/2 quarts water (10 cups)
5 oz ground coffee (1/2 + 1/8 cup)
2 tablespoons cinnamon
Milk & sweetener, your choice
DIRECTIONS:

  1. In a large pitcher combine the cold water, cinnamon, and ground coffee.  Stir mixture and let it sit in the fridge overnight.

    iced coffee1

  2. In the morning, strain the coffee through a cheese cloth (I used one, folded a couple times) over a mesh sieve, into a large bowl.
  3. Rinse out large pitcher to re-use and pour contents of the bowl into it.
  4. Fill a glass with ice and pour in your chilled iced coffee.  Add milk and sweetener as you like (I just used light canned coconut milk).

    icedcoffee2

  5. Enjoy copious amounts of cheap, homemade, iced coffee!

 

Leave a Reply

