Always Bring Your Running Shoes

This morning I depart for a work trip to New Orleans for 5 days (Saturday to Wednesday).  My dad, worried about my safety, first asked me to not run and then asked me not to go running somewhere just because I thought it was pretty.  Come on dad!  My obsession with criminal investigation shows has taught me better than that!  My aunt also warned me not to travel off the beaten path because I might, in fact, just end up beaten.  So much enthusiasm for my travels!

The most important thing I know about traveling and working out, besides being safe, is to always be prepared.  I remember when I studied abroad in Paris a couple years ago, I debated whether or not to bring my running shoes.  After learning that most people do not run or go to the gym in Paris, I still decided to bring them along.  This was the best decision I ever made.

After a couple of months of adjusting to the life and the culture, I regained my sense of productivity when I put on my running shoes.  The first day I ran, I went out and covered 7 miles, all because there were so many new things to see, and places to traverse.  For this one month straight I ran.  And ran everyday.  Each time was a new adventure.

I would set my sights on a faraway landmark I wanted to explore (like the Ile des Cygnes– Isle of Swans- side note: there were no swans, just homeless people) and make up my own half-marathon course.  Or I would ride the metro out to one of the largest parks (Bois de Vincennes or Parc des Buttes Chaumont) where runners were welcome and there were waterfalls.

DSC09756

DSC07789

DSC07797

DSC07799

Running on vacation is a great way to explore a new city, and is much faster than walking!  It’s a great way to get a long run in because it is so easy to lose yourself.  So of course now, for my trip to NOLA, I’ve packed my running outfits, one for each day, and I’ll be wearing my running shoes on the plane.  There will be no excuses here!

4 thoughts on “Always Bring Your Running Shoes

  1. I totally agree – I bring my running shoes on every trip, even those when I know I’m probably not going to be able to run! You just never know, and it’s a great way to see a new city. One of my favorite runs was when I travelled in India with my husband’s family, and went out for a 5-miler in the middle of the afternoon summer heat in Goa and I saw so many crazy things just running around on the roads. It allowed me to see the city from a really interesting perspective. That, and I got a LOT of stares. Ha.

Leave a Reply

