Eating for the Season: Tropi-Kale Smoothie

It’s time to get back on track and eating right.  Yesterday I went for a run after traveling 6+ hours.  I was worried I was going to be sluggish and that my running was going to be affected by my change of (poor) eating habits for the past few days.  However, I felt really good, and my legs just wanted to keep moving.  It was so refreshing to be back by the big blue ocean.  I did a 4 mile run, that included my first sub-7 minute mile at 6:44! 🙂

photo

Ok, so now back to this week’s edition of eating for the season: another kale recipe.  This is the perfect drink to help detox your system and make you start feeling right again. I’ve gone through phases of making and liking green smoothies, and then not.  They usually start out nice and mild, but then I become a mad scientist in the kitchen.  They become increasingly more brown than green, and the flavor becomes less than appealing.  However, the other day I got a great green smoothie from the Whole Foods juice bar which jotted my memory.  “Hey, I can do this!”  photo

Tropi-Kale Smoothie
This recipe is Whole30 and Paleo-approved
INGREDIENTS:
1 cup kale
½ frozen banana
9 frozen mango chunks
¼ cup frozen pineapple bits
12 oz. coconut water

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Place all ingredients in the blender.
  2. If you don’t have a Vitamix (like I don’t), I usually set the blender to “chop ice.”
  3. Once everything has been broken down a little bit, I alternate between the “puree” and “liquefy” speeds.  Tip: If it’s hard to get moving, just add a little bit more coconut water.
  4. When it’s all blended, you should have a nice and thick, tropical tasting, green smoothie.
One thought on “Eating for the Season: Tropi-Kale Smoothie

  1. Pingback: WebMD says… | daily cup of asheejojo

Leave a Reply

