It’s Taper Time

Screen Shot 2013-04-22 at 1.21.41 PM

This week begins my taper for the La Jolla half marathon.  I don’t really know what to expect for this race.  This will be my third time running the course, and my goal is just to beat my best course time (1:46:36).  This is a difficult course, with a 440 ft increase in elevation at mile 6.  But this has been my first time really focusing on hills, and running the Torrey Pines State Reserve several times prior.

IMG_1106_LowRes1280

“The Hill” (source)

The importance of tapering is to let your body and muscles rest and recover, and to let them receive all of the benefits built up over training.

For my last race, the Carlsbad half, my taper week looked like this:
Sun – 4 mi
Mon – 6 mi
Tues – 3 mi
Wed – Stretching, foam rolling, balancing
Thurs – 2 mi, hot yoga
Fri & Sat – Rest
Sun – Race day
I ended up running a PR after a 1 year hiatus from running any races.

My main goals this week are:
1. Make sure I am well rested = early bedtime/8 hours of sleep each night leading up.
2. Take it easy = easy mileage/not the time to ramp up training.
3. Recover = stretch, foam roll, wear compression socks.
4. Eat well = don’t eat anything new/don’t eat too much or too little.

I’m still trying to figure out what to eat on race day.  I have been inconsistent in what I eat before my long training runs, mainly just fruit and nuts, but I don’t know if I’ll be able to sustain myself on that for a race.  And more importantly, I’m still trying to figure out where I want to eat my post-race meal, because I love the gratification that comes with that!

What this week looks like:
Sun – 6 mi
Mon – 4 mi Movin’ Shoes run for Boston
Tues – Stretching, foam rolling
Wed – 3 mi run, PM hot yoga
Thurs – AM hot yoga
Fri – Walk/rest
Sat – Rest
Sun – Race day

How do you taper?

Leave a Reply

