How Smurfs Recover

photoYesterday I got stuck at the Apple store, and ended up being too late to join in the #BostonStrong run at Movin’ Shoes Encinitas.  Instead, I ran 4 miles by myself, suffering from slight shin splints.  So last night and today, I resorted to recovering via PRO Compression Socks!  To bed. To work.  But I swear I pulled down my pants, and I swear I’m not just a Smurf!

I just finished reading Why You Should Taper Before A Marathon and came across a few good tips for building confidence the week before a race.    These include setting goals – amazing, ideal, and livable – that will make you feel accomplished, no matter what, when you cross that finish line.  I usually don’t set specific goals ahead of time.  I usually, like most people, just want to PR.  But when the race begins and I realize I might not do as unrealistically well as I want, I start the battle in my brain.  So instead, I think I’ll try jotting some realistic goals out now to free my mind.

Set multiple time goals, separated by 5 to 15 minutes so you don’t feel like you leave empty-handed:

  1. Fantastic – new PR, below a 1:44
  2. Really good – new course PR, below a 1:46
  3. I can live with that – 1:48 to 1:52 (preferably not the latter, but who knows).

Set general goals (i.e. not walking, finishing strong, or simply enjoying yourself):

  1. Staying confident throughout the race
  2. Not completely dying after the hill
  3. Finishing strong with a sprint

Visualize the race and what you want to accomplish in each part:

  1. Start – start off comfortable and strong.
  2. Halfway point – pick up speed slightly, or maintain pace.
  3. Mile 12-12.75 – pick it up as much as I can.
  4. Mile 12.75-13.1 – give it all I’ve got.  The last incline of the course with a downhill finish.

How do you set your race goals?

Don’t forget to enter the Body Love Apparel Giveaway!

4 thoughts on “How Smurfs Recover

  1. Smurftastic! (Why on earth did I buy purple ones?)
    When I set my race goals I always have the “emergency” goal — at least I need to LEARN something from this run, even if things go very, very badly. Like when I discovered that eating my usual pre-race breakfast wasn’t a good idea when staying at a hotel 100 feet from the starting line. Sleeping in and grabbing a late brekkie did me no favors that day.
    Thanks for sharing your recipes.

  2. Pingback: La Jolla Half Marathon | daily cup of asheejojo

Leave a Reply

