Happy Mother’s Day!

photoSurprise!  Yesterday my dad and I showed up in Palm Desert, unannounced, on my grandma’s doorstep to make a surprise visit for Mother’s Day.  Her reaction was priceless.  She literally just screamed “OH MY GOD!”

photo

Today it was 104 degrees of DRY HEAT.  My foot is still healing, but even if I had been able to run my ideal 10 miles, I’m pretty sure there would have been no way –I would have just shriveled up and disintegrated!  We made some quick and easy sangria to combat the heat while we grilled some brandy-marinated steak, boiled the corn, sautéed the mushrooms with a little red wine, and tossed the salad.  The sangria was just a bottle of Gallo Sangria, doctored up with some thin slices of lemon, lime and navel orange.  All in all it was a quick trip, but it was some good time spent with family.

photo

Hope you all had a Happy Mother’s Day!

P.S. I kind of jumped the gun last week and decided to create a domain and move over to self-hosting.  If you are following me and would like to continue following me, make sure you check out my blog sans wordpress.com at www.dailycupofasheejojo.com.

Leave a Reply

